Geschreven door studenten die geslaagd zijn Direct beschikbaar na je betaling Online lezen of als PDF Verkeerd document? Gratis ruilen 4,6 TrustPilot
logo-home
Tentamen (uitwerkingen)

Syracuse University ACC 363 final exercises QUESTIONS WITH VERIFIED SOLUTIONS

Beoordeling
-
Verkocht
-
Pagina's
26
Cijfer
A+
Geüpload op
09-07-2021
Geschreven in
2020/2021

Chapter 9 9-16 9-21 9-22 9-16 Variable and absorption costing, explaining operating-income differences. Nascar Motors assembles and sells motor vehicles and uses standard costing. Actual data relating to April and May 2014 are as follows: The selling price per vehicle is $24,000. The budgeted level of production used to calculate the budgeted fixed manufacturing cost per unit is 500 units. There are no price, efficiency, or spending variances. Any productionvolume variance is written off to cost of goods sold in the month in which it occurs. 1.Prepare April and May 2014 income statements for Nascar Motors under (a) variable costing and (b) absorption costing. 2.Prepare a numerical reconciliation and explanation of the difference between operating income for each month under variable costing and absorption costing. 9-16 (30 min.) Variable and absorption costing, explaining operating-income differences. 1. Key inputs for income statement computations are April May Beginning inventory Production Goods available for sale Units sold Ending inventory 0 500 500 350 150 150 400 550 520 30 The budgeted fixed cost per unit and budgeted total manufacturing cost per unit under absorption costing are April May (a) Budgeted fixed manufacturing costs (b) Budgeted production (c) = (a) ÷ (b) Budgeted fixed manufacturing cost per unit (d) Budgeted variable manufacturing cost per unit (e) = (c) + (d) Budgeted total manufacturing cost per unit $2,000,000 500 $4,000 $10,000 $14,000 $2,000,000 500 $4,000 $10,000 $14,000 9-1(a) Variable costing April 2014 May 2014 Revenuesa $8,400,000 $12,480,000 Variable costs Beginning inventory $ 0 $1,500,000 Variable manufacturing costsb 5,000,000 4,000,000 Cost of goods available for sale 5,000,000 5,500,000 Deduct ending inventoryc (1,500,000) (300,000) Variable cost of goods sold 3,500,000 5,200,000 Variable operating costsd 1,050,000 1,560,000 Total variable costs 4,550,000 6,760,000 Contribution margin 3,850,000 5,720,000 Fixed costs Fixed manufacturing costs 2,000,000 2,000,000 Fixed operating costs 600,000 600,000 Total fixed costs 2,600,000 2,600,000 Operating income $1,250,000 $3,120,000 a $24,000 × 350; $24,000 × 520 c $10,000 × 150; $10,000 × 30 b $10,000 × 500; $10,000 × 400 d $3,000 × 350; $3,000 × 520 (b) Absorption costing April 2014 May 2014 Revenuesa $8,400,000 $12,480,000 Cost of goods sold Beginning inventory $ 0 $2,100,000 Variable manufacturing costsb 5,000,000 4,000,000 Allocated fixed manufacturing costsc 2,000,000 1,600,000 Cost of goods available for sale 7,000,000 7,700,000 Deduct ending inventoryd (2,100,000) (420,000) Adjustment for prod.-vol. variancee 0 400,000 U Cost of goods sold 4,900,000 7,680,000 Gross margin 3,500,000 4,800,000 Operating costs Variable operating costsf 1,050,000 1,560,000 Fixed operating costs 600,000 600,000 Total operating costs 1,650,000 2,160,000 Operating income $1,850,000 $ 2,640,000 a $24,000 × 350; $24,000 × 520 d $14,000 × 150; $14,000 × 30 b $10,000 × 500; $10,000 × 400 e $2,000,000 – $2,000,000; $2,000,000 – $1,600,000 c $4,000 × 500; $4,000 × 400 f $3,000 × 350; $3,000 × 520 2. Absorption-costing operating income – Variable-costing operating income = Fixed manufacturing costs in ending inventory – Fixed manufacturing costs in beginning inventory April: $1,850,000 – $1,250,000 = ($4,000 × 150) – ($0) $600,000 = $600,000 May: 9-2$2,640,000 – $3,120,000 = ($4,000 × 30) – ($4,000 × 150) – $480,000 = $120,000 – $600,000 – $480,000 = – $480,000 The difference between absorption and variable costing is due solely to moving fixed manufacturing costs into inventories as inventories increase (as in April) and out of inventories as they decrease (as in May). 9-21 Absorption and variable costing. (CMA) Osawa, Inc., planned and actually manufactured 200,000 units of its single product in 2014, its first year of operation. Variable manufacturing cost was $20 per unit produced. Variable operating (nonmanufacturing) cost was $10 per unit sold. Planned and actual fixed manufacturing costs were $600,000. Planned and actual fixed operating (nonmanufacturing) costs totaled $400,000. Osawa sold 120,000 units of product at $40 per unit. Beginning inventory, January 1, 2014 Ending inventory, December 31, salesSelling price (to distributor) Variable manufacturing cost per unit, including direct materials Variable operating (marketing) cost per unit sold Fixed manufacturing costsDenominator-level machine-hours Standard production rateFixed operating (marketing) costs 85,000 units 34,500 units 345,400 units $22.00 per unit $5.10 per unit $1.10 per unit sold $1,440,000 6,00050 units per machine-hour $1,080,000 1 Osawa’s 2014 operating income using absorption costing is (a) $440,000, (b) $200,000, (c) $600,000, (d) $840,000, or (e) none of these. Show supporting calculations. 2

Meer zien Lees minder
Instelling
Vak

Voorbeeld van de inhoud

Chapter 9 9-16 9-21 9-22

9-16 Variable and absorption costing, explaining operating-income differences. Nascar Motors assembles
and sells motor vehicles and uses standard costing. Actual data relating to April and May 2014 are as follows:




The selling price per vehicle is $24,000. The budgeted level of production used to calculate the budgeted fixed
manufacturing cost per unit is 500 units. There are no price, efficiency, or spending variances. Any production-
volume variance is written off to cost of goods sold in the month in which it occurs.

1.Prepare April and May 2014 income statements for Nascar Motors under (a) variable costing and (b)
absorption costing.

2.Prepare a numerical reconciliation and explanation of the difference between operating income for each
month under variable costing and absorption costing.

9-16 (30 min.) Variable and absorption costing, explaining operating-income differences.

1. Key inputs for income statement computations are

April May
Beginning inventory 0 150
Production 500 400
Goods available for sale 500 550
Units sold 350 520
Ending inventory 150 30




The budgeted fixed cost per unit and budgeted total manufacturing cost per unit under absorption costing are
April May
(a) Budgeted fixed manufacturing costs $2,000,000 $2,000,000
(b) Budgeted production 500 500
(c) = (a) ÷ (b) Budgeted fixed manufacturing cost per unit $4,000 $4,000
(d) Budgeted variable manufacturing cost per unit $10,000 $10,000
(e) = (c) + (d) Budgeted total manufacturing cost per unit $14,000 $14,000


9-1

,(a) Variable costing
April 2014 May 2014
Revenuesa $8,400,000 $12,480,000
Variable costs
Beginning inventory $ 0 $1,500,000
Variable manufacturing costsb 5,000,000 4,000,000
Cost of goods available for sale 5,000,000 5,500,000
Deduct ending inventoryc (1,500,000) (300,000)
Variable cost of goods sold 3,500,000 5,200,000
Variable operating costsd 1,050,000 1,560,000
Total variable costs 4,550,000 6,760,000
Contribution margin 3,850,000 5,720,000
Fixed costs
Fixed manufacturing costs 2,000,000 2,000,000
Fixed operating costs 600,000 600,000
Total fixed costs 2,600,000 2,600,000
Operating income $1,250,000 $3,120,000
a $24,000 × 350; $24,000 × 520 c $10,000 × 150; $10,000 × 30
b $10,000 × 500; $10,000 × 400 d $3,000 × 350; $3,000 × 520

(b) Absorption costing

April 2014 May 2014
Revenuesa $8,400,000 $12,480,000
Cost of goods sold
Beginning inventory $ 0 $2,100,000
Variable manufacturing costsb 5,000,000 4,000,000
Allocated fixed manufacturing costsc 2,000,000 1,600,000
Cost of goods available for sale 7,000,000 7,700,000
Deduct ending inventoryd (2,100,000) (420,000)
Adjustment for prod.-vol. variancee 0 400,000 U
Cost of goods sold 4,900,000 7,680,000
Gross margin 3,500,000 4,800,000
Operating costs
Variable operating costsf 1,050,000 1,560,000
Fixed operating costs 600,000 600,000
Total operating costs 1,650,000 2,160,000
Operating income $1,850,000 $ 2,640,000
a d
$24,000 × 350; $24,000 × 520 $14,000 × 150; $14,000 × 30
b e
$10,000 × 500; $10,000 × 400 $2,000,000 – $2,000,000; $2,000,000 – $1,600,000
c f
$4,000 × 500; $4,000 × 400 $3,000 × 350; $3,000 × 520


2. – = –
Absorption-costing Variable-costing Fixed manufacturing costs Fixed manufacturing costs
operating income operating income in ending inventory in beginning inventory
April:
$1,850,000 – $1,250,000 = ($4,000 × 150) – ($0)
$600,000 = $600,000
May:
9-2

, $2,640,000 – $3,120,000 = ($4,000 × 30) – ($4,000 × 150)
– $480,000 = $120,000 – $600,000
– $480,000 = – $480,000
The difference between absorption and variable costing is due solely to moving fixed manufacturing costs into
inventories as inventories increase (as in April) and out of inventories as they decrease (as in May).

9-21 Absorption and variable costing. (CMA) Osawa, Inc., planned and actually manufactured 200,000 units of
its single product in 2014, its first year of operation. Variable manufacturing cost was $20 per unit produced.
Variable operating (nonmanufacturing) cost was $10 per unit sold. Planned and actual fixed manufacturing costs
were $600,000. Planned and actual fixed operating (nonmanufacturing) costs totaled $400,000. Osawa sold
120,000 units of product at $40 per unit.

Beginning inventory, January 1, 2014 Ending inventory, December 31, 2014 2014 salesSelling price (to distributor)

Variable manufacturing cost per unit, including direct materials Variable operating (marketing) cost per unit sold
Fixed manufacturing costsDenominator-level machine-hours

Standard production rateFixed operating (marketing) costs

85,000 units 34,500 units 345,400 units $22.00 per unit $5.10 per unit $1.10 per unit sold $1,440,000

6,00050 units per machine-hour $1,080,000


1 Osawa’s 2014 operating income using absorption costing is (a) $440,000, (b) $200,000, (c) $600,000, (d)
$840,000, or (e) none of these. Show supporting calculations.

2 Osawa’s 2014 operating income using variable costing is (a) $800,000, (b) $440,000, (c) $200,000, (d)
$600,000, or (e) none of these. Show supporting calculations.

3 9-21 (10 min.) Absorption and variable costing.
4
5 The answers are 1(a) and 2(c). Computations:
6
1. Absorption Costing:
Revenuesa $4,800,000
Cost of goods sold:
Variable manufacturing costsb $2,400,000
Allocated fixed manufacturing costsc 360,000 2,760,000
Gross margin 2,040,000
Operating costs:
Variable operatingd 1,200,000
Fixed operating 400,000 1,600,000
Operating income $ 440,000
7

a
8 $40 × 120,000
b
9 $20 × 120,000
c
10 Fixed manufacturing rate = $600,000 ÷ 200,000 = $3 per output unit
11 Fixed manufacturing costs = $3 × 120,000
12 d $10 × 120,000
13
14



9-3

Geschreven voor

Instelling
Vak

Documentinformatie

Geüpload op
9 juli 2021
Aantal pagina's
26
Geschreven in
2020/2021
Type
Tentamen (uitwerkingen)
Bevat
Vragen en antwoorden

Onderwerpen

$16.49
Krijg toegang tot het volledige document:

Verkeerd document? Gratis ruilen Binnen 14 dagen na aankoop en voor het downloaden kun je een ander document kiezen. Je kunt het bedrag gewoon opnieuw besteden.
Geschreven door studenten die geslaagd zijn
Direct beschikbaar na je betaling
Online lezen of als PDF


Ook beschikbaar in voordeelbundel

Maak kennis met de verkoper

Seller avatar
De reputatie van een verkoper is gebaseerd op het aantal documenten dat iemand tegen betaling verkocht heeft en de beoordelingen die voor die items ontvangen zijn. Er zijn drie niveau’s te onderscheiden: brons, zilver en goud. Hoe beter de reputatie, hoe meer de kwaliteit van zijn of haar werk te vertrouwen is.
Themanehoppe American Intercontinental University Online
Volgen Je moet ingelogd zijn om studenten of vakken te kunnen volgen
Verkocht
345
Lid sinds
4 jaar
Aantal volgers
224
Documenten
3784
Laatst verkocht
6 dagen geleden

3.5

55 beoordelingen

5
25
4
7
3
7
2
3
1
13

Recent door jou bekeken

Waarom studenten kiezen voor Stuvia

Gemaakt door medestudenten, geverifieerd door reviews

Kwaliteit die je kunt vertrouwen: geschreven door studenten die slaagden en beoordeeld door anderen die dit document gebruikten.

Niet tevreden? Kies een ander document

Geen zorgen! Je kunt voor hetzelfde geld direct een ander document kiezen dat beter past bij wat je zoekt.

Betaal zoals je wilt, start meteen met leren

Geen abonnement, geen verplichtingen. Betaal zoals je gewend bent via iDeal of creditcard en download je PDF-document meteen.

Student with book image

“Gekocht, gedownload en geslaagd. Zo makkelijk kan het dus zijn.”

Alisha Student

Bezig met je bronvermelding?

Maak nauwkeurige citaten in APA, MLA en Harvard met onze gratis bronnengenerator.

Bezig met je bronvermelding?

Veelgestelde vragen