Math Practice 4 RD Exam Questions And
Answers.
A coffee shop reported yearly sales of $13000, with a
profit margin at 16%. What was the net profit for that
year? -
\Rationale:
$13000 × 16% = $2080.
The net profit was $2080
A food service facility operates with a 40% food cost.
One chicken entree has a raw food cost of $3.00, and
it takes an employee 15 minutes to prepare the meal
while earning $8/hour. How much will this serving of
chicken cost a customer? -
\Rationale:
Raw food cost /food cost factor = $ 3/ 0.4 = $7.50
The customer will pay $7.50 for this menu item.
A male patient weighs 165 pounds and is 6'1". What
is his percent ideal body weight (IBW) and % IBW? -
\Rationale:
His ideal body weight is 184 lbs. His percent ideal body weight is 89.6%.
IBW: 106 + 6(13) = 184
%IBW: 165/184= 89.6% IBW
A patient's weight has decreased from 200 to 180 in
the past 3 months. What is the percent weight
change? -
\Rationale:
% Weight Change = Usual body weight (UBW) − Current BW/UBW x 100
Patient: 200 − 180/200 x 100 = 10%
Define the prime cost method of menu pricing. -
\Rationale:
Prime cost of menu pricing is an approach that uses the raw cost of food and labor cost
to determine the cost of supplies. Additional costs from service,
sanitation, and administrative expenses are not included in prime cost.
Define "yield percentage." -
\Rationale:
Percent yield is the factor used to determine how much of the food is lost after cooking,
cutting, and processing of the food
, Yield Percentage Formula = Edible Portion Quantity/As-Purchased Quantity x 100.
Explain the pricing factor used in menu pricing -
\Rationale:
The factor pricing method, also known as the markup method, can be calculated as
Raw food cost × Pricing factor = Menu sales price
For example: If the operator chooses a 40% food cost, the pricing factor would be
100/40, or 2.5.
How are energy needs for adults calculated using the
Mifflin-St. Jeor equation? -
\Rationale:
The Mifflin St. Jeor equation is as follows:
Men: Resting metabolic rate (RMR) = (9.99W) + (6.25H) − (4.92A) + 5
Women: RMR = (9.99W) + (6.25H) − (4.92A) − 161
*In this equation, weight (W) and height (H) are measured in kilograms and centimeters,
respectively
How do you calculate average inventory? -
\Average inventory = (Opening inventory + Closing inventory) / 2
How do you calculate labor minutes per meal? -
\Labor minutes per meal =
Total labor minutes to produce meals / Total # of meals served
How do you calculate meals per labor hour? -
\Meals per labor hour =
Total # of meals served / Total labor hours to produce meals
How do you calculate production demand? -
\Determine the Estimated Meal Census
(Multiply the EMC by the PI (popularity index) of the menu item
Multiply the result from step 2 above by the Quantity needed in the recipes
How do you calculate the percentage of total
expenses during a financial period? -
\Total expenses =
Net profit − total sales.
% total expenses =
total expenses / total sales
How do you calculate the return on investment (ROI)
when selling kitchen equipment? -
\ROI =
(Selling price of the equipment - Initial cost of the investment)
/ Initial cost of the investment
Answers.
A coffee shop reported yearly sales of $13000, with a
profit margin at 16%. What was the net profit for that
year? -
\Rationale:
$13000 × 16% = $2080.
The net profit was $2080
A food service facility operates with a 40% food cost.
One chicken entree has a raw food cost of $3.00, and
it takes an employee 15 minutes to prepare the meal
while earning $8/hour. How much will this serving of
chicken cost a customer? -
\Rationale:
Raw food cost /food cost factor = $ 3/ 0.4 = $7.50
The customer will pay $7.50 for this menu item.
A male patient weighs 165 pounds and is 6'1". What
is his percent ideal body weight (IBW) and % IBW? -
\Rationale:
His ideal body weight is 184 lbs. His percent ideal body weight is 89.6%.
IBW: 106 + 6(13) = 184
%IBW: 165/184= 89.6% IBW
A patient's weight has decreased from 200 to 180 in
the past 3 months. What is the percent weight
change? -
\Rationale:
% Weight Change = Usual body weight (UBW) − Current BW/UBW x 100
Patient: 200 − 180/200 x 100 = 10%
Define the prime cost method of menu pricing. -
\Rationale:
Prime cost of menu pricing is an approach that uses the raw cost of food and labor cost
to determine the cost of supplies. Additional costs from service,
sanitation, and administrative expenses are not included in prime cost.
Define "yield percentage." -
\Rationale:
Percent yield is the factor used to determine how much of the food is lost after cooking,
cutting, and processing of the food
, Yield Percentage Formula = Edible Portion Quantity/As-Purchased Quantity x 100.
Explain the pricing factor used in menu pricing -
\Rationale:
The factor pricing method, also known as the markup method, can be calculated as
Raw food cost × Pricing factor = Menu sales price
For example: If the operator chooses a 40% food cost, the pricing factor would be
100/40, or 2.5.
How are energy needs for adults calculated using the
Mifflin-St. Jeor equation? -
\Rationale:
The Mifflin St. Jeor equation is as follows:
Men: Resting metabolic rate (RMR) = (9.99W) + (6.25H) − (4.92A) + 5
Women: RMR = (9.99W) + (6.25H) − (4.92A) − 161
*In this equation, weight (W) and height (H) are measured in kilograms and centimeters,
respectively
How do you calculate average inventory? -
\Average inventory = (Opening inventory + Closing inventory) / 2
How do you calculate labor minutes per meal? -
\Labor minutes per meal =
Total labor minutes to produce meals / Total # of meals served
How do you calculate meals per labor hour? -
\Meals per labor hour =
Total # of meals served / Total labor hours to produce meals
How do you calculate production demand? -
\Determine the Estimated Meal Census
(Multiply the EMC by the PI (popularity index) of the menu item
Multiply the result from step 2 above by the Quantity needed in the recipes
How do you calculate the percentage of total
expenses during a financial period? -
\Total expenses =
Net profit − total sales.
% total expenses =
total expenses / total sales
How do you calculate the return on investment (ROI)
when selling kitchen equipment? -
\ROI =
(Selling price of the equipment - Initial cost of the investment)
/ Initial cost of the investment