Solution: CVP Analysis - Pukhran Ltd.
CVP Analysis - Step-by-Step Solution
Given:
Year Sales (Rs.) Profit (Rs.)
2021 5,40,000 12,000
2022 6,00,000 30,000
(i) P/V Ratio:
P/V Ratio = (Change in Profit / Change in Sales) × 100
= (30,000 - 12,000) / (6,00,000 - 5,40,000) × 100
= 18,,000 × 100 = 30%
(ii) Fixed Costs:
Contribution (2021) = 5,40,000 × 30% = 1,62,000
Fixed Costs = Contribution - Profit = 1,62,000 - 12,000 = Rs.1,50,000
(iii) Break-Even Sales:
Break-Even Sales = Fixed Costs / P/V Ratio = 1,50,% = Rs.5,00,000
(iv) Margin of Safety at Profit Rs.48,000:
Contribution = Profit + Fixed Costs = 48,000 + 1,50,000 = Rs.1,98,000
Sales = Contribution / P/V Ratio = 1,98,% = Rs.6,60,000
Margin of Safety = Sales - Break-Even Sales = 6,60,000 - 5,00,000 = Rs.1,60,000
(v) Variable Costs:
Variable Cost = Sales - Contribution
2021:
Contribution = 5,40,000 × 30% = Rs.1,62,000
Variable Cost = 5,40,000 - 1,62,000 = Rs.3,78,000
CVP Analysis - Step-by-Step Solution
Given:
Year Sales (Rs.) Profit (Rs.)
2021 5,40,000 12,000
2022 6,00,000 30,000
(i) P/V Ratio:
P/V Ratio = (Change in Profit / Change in Sales) × 100
= (30,000 - 12,000) / (6,00,000 - 5,40,000) × 100
= 18,,000 × 100 = 30%
(ii) Fixed Costs:
Contribution (2021) = 5,40,000 × 30% = 1,62,000
Fixed Costs = Contribution - Profit = 1,62,000 - 12,000 = Rs.1,50,000
(iii) Break-Even Sales:
Break-Even Sales = Fixed Costs / P/V Ratio = 1,50,% = Rs.5,00,000
(iv) Margin of Safety at Profit Rs.48,000:
Contribution = Profit + Fixed Costs = 48,000 + 1,50,000 = Rs.1,98,000
Sales = Contribution / P/V Ratio = 1,98,% = Rs.6,60,000
Margin of Safety = Sales - Break-Even Sales = 6,60,000 - 5,00,000 = Rs.1,60,000
(v) Variable Costs:
Variable Cost = Sales - Contribution
2021:
Contribution = 5,40,000 × 30% = Rs.1,62,000
Variable Cost = 5,40,000 - 1,62,000 = Rs.3,78,000