Geschreven door studenten die geslaagd zijn Direct beschikbaar na je betaling Online lezen of als PDF Verkeerd document? Gratis ruilen 4,6 TrustPilot
logo-home
Samenvatting

Summary Financial Management 2 (CITM2.FIN2-01)

Beoordeling
3,0
(2)
Verkocht
4
Pagina's
21
Geüpload op
03-03-2021
Geschreven in
2020/2021

This is a summary of all the topics that need to be studied in order to pass the exam of Financial Management in year 2 at the NHTV/BUAS. Including example exercises and topics about: cost structures, break-even point, safety margin, absorption costing, direct costing, relevant costing, indirect costing, process costing, equivalent unit method, single & multiple rate method, cost centre method, activity-based costing, budgeting, variance analysis, ratios, etc.

Meer zien Lees minder

Voorbeeld van de inhoud

Finance summary knowledge clips:
Clip 1: Cost structure:
Relationship production size and cost level:
- Fixed costs-> Remain constant, even if the output level changes, even if production
increases or decreases. (e.g. depreciation, employee costs with fixed contract)
- Variable costs -> Change in relation to the output level, change if production
increases or decreases. (e.g. fuel of a taxi, packaging of a product, raw materials)

Total costs:
- Total variable costs: costs of raw material, costs of energy and fuel, wages (on-call),
etc.
- Total fixed costs: depreciation costs, wages (contract), rent, etc.

Variable costs increase:
- Proportionally: When volume increases the costs per units stay the same and the
costs of the total units rises.
- Degressive: When volume increases the costs per units get lower with more units
sold and the total costs of the total units rises quick with low production and stops
rising with more units. This results in, cost savings with increased production level,
therefore it is more efficient with producing more units.
- Progressive: When volume increases the costs per units gets higher with more units
sold and the total costs of the total units starts low and rises quickly when producing
more units. This results in, more expenses with more production, probably due to
scarce raw materials and expensive staff.

Fixed costs: Do not change over a period of time with production. Per unit decrease, same
amount of costs with higher output level then less costs per unit in the end, due to fixed
that always will be there.

Fixed costs in the long term:
If long term capacity is adjusted, this will influence the fixed costs: stepped fixed costs
Fixed costs increase with the volume of activity; however, the fixed costs will not change
with the total costs,
- The fixed costs will be a right line in a table that indicates a square of costs.
- The variable costs will be a rising line in a table that indicates a triangle of costs.
- The total cost line will be the line above the 2 costs combined.

,Clip 2: Break-even point:
- The BEP refers to revenues needed to cover the company’s total amount of fixed and
variable costs (the total costs).
- At what sales level does a company need to cover all their costs.
- At BEP there is neither profit nor loss, the activity ‘breaks even’.
- The BE analysis is based on assumptions which may not always hold:
 Linearity of costs/revenues -> no changes take place in production, etc.
 One type of product is only produced.
 Production=sales.

BEP is amount of sales where:
- Total revenue= total costs
- Total revenue= total variable costs + total fixed costs
- BEP x selling price= variable costs x BEP + fixed costs -> BEP= amount of units
- BEP x (selling price – variable costs) = fixed costs
- Contribution margin= selling price- variable costs
Break-even quantity (BEP)= fixed costs / selling price – variable costs

Break-even chart:
- Where the lines of revenue and total costs cross, is the break-even point.
- The section beneath the BEP between the revenue and cost line is a loss when the
production is underneath the BEP production.
- The section above the BEP between the revenue and cost line is a profit when the
production is above the BEP production.

Safety margin: Higher the margin -> the less risk
- Is the gap between the break-even quantity and the actual sales.
- Indicates the risk of loss to which a business is subjected by changes in sales.
Safety margin= actual sales – break-even sales / actual sales

, Clip 3: Break-even point Example:
Break-even quantity= fixed costs / selling price – variable costs (per unit)
Travel company sells tours at €500 per tour. Fixed costs are €1.000.000 per year, variable
costs per tour are €150 per tour. (Each sold tour has costs of €150 and adds €500 revenue.)

- 1.000. – 150 = 2.858 tours in a year = BEP

Assume the company has a profit target of €250.000. To achieve this, they need a
contribution margin that is €250.000 more than fixed costs.
Sales needed to achieve this are:

- BEP Target= (fixed costs + target profit) / selling price – variable costs
- (1.000.000 + 250.000) / 500 – 150 = 3.572 tours

Assume the company expected to sell 3.650 tours this year. What is the safety margin (in
numbers of tours and percentages)?
Safety margin= actual sales – break-even sales / actual sales.

- 3.650 – 2..650 = 21,7%
- Number of tours= 3.650 – 2.858 = 792 tours
So, the sales can drop with 21,7% (792 tours) before break-even is reached and before the
company starts making a loss from that moment onwards.

Documentinformatie

Heel boek samengevat?
Ja
Geüpload op
3 maart 2021
Aantal pagina's
21
Geschreven in
2020/2021
Type
SAMENVATTING
€5,99
Krijg toegang tot het volledige document:

Verkeerd document? Gratis ruilen Binnen 14 dagen na aankoop en voor het downloaden kun je een ander document kiezen. Je kunt het bedrag gewoon opnieuw besteden.
Geschreven door studenten die geslaagd zijn
Direct beschikbaar na je betaling
Online lezen of als PDF

Beoordelingen van geverifieerde kopers

Alle 2 reviews worden weergegeven
3 jaar geleden

4 jaar geleden

3,0

2 beoordelingen

5
0
4
0
3
2
2
0
1
0
Betrouwbare reviews op Stuvia

Alle beoordelingen zijn geschreven door echte Stuvia-gebruikers na geverifieerde aankopen.

Maak kennis met de verkoper

Seller avatar
De reputatie van een verkoper is gebaseerd op het aantal documenten dat iemand tegen betaling verkocht heeft en de beoordelingen die voor die items ontvangen zijn. Er zijn drie niveau’s te onderscheiden: brons, zilver en goud. Hoe beter de reputatie, hoe meer de kwaliteit van zijn of haar werk te vertrouwen is.
RafaelHoutepen Tilburg University
Bekijk profiel
Volgen Je moet ingelogd zijn om studenten of vakken te kunnen volgen
Verkocht
197
Lid sinds
7 jaar
Aantal volgers
60
Documenten
45
Laatst verkocht
18 uur geleden
Rafael's University Store!

I am a Dutch student at Tilburg University following the Msc Marketing Management and before that I completed the pre-master in Marketing Management as well as a Bachelor in Tourism Management. I would like to make other students happy by sharing my summaries and essays

4,0

24 beoordelingen

5
8
4
8
3
7
2
1
1
0

Recent door jou bekeken

Waarom studenten kiezen voor Stuvia

Gemaakt door medestudenten, geverifieerd door reviews

Kwaliteit die je kunt vertrouwen: geschreven door studenten die slaagden en beoordeeld door anderen die dit document gebruikten.

Niet tevreden? Kies een ander document

Geen zorgen! Je kunt voor hetzelfde geld direct een ander document kiezen dat beter past bij wat je zoekt.

Betaal zoals je wilt, start meteen met leren

Geen abonnement, geen verplichtingen. Betaal zoals je gewend bent via iDeal of creditcard en download je PDF-document meteen.

Student with book image

“Gekocht, gedownload en geslaagd. Zo makkelijk kan het dus zijn.”

Alisha Student

Bezig met je bronvermelding?

Maak nauwkeurige citaten in APA, MLA en Harvard met onze gratis bronnengenerator.

Bezig met je bronvermelding?

Veelgestelde vragen